5 New Things to Try This Fall

fall_autumn_foliage_trees-wide.jpg

Fall is such a beautiful time of year, with the leaves changing colors and the scents of pumpkin and cinnamon looming in the air. I have always loved the classic raking leaves and jumping into them scenario and I am so excited to clear my lawn this weekend to do just that 🙂

With the arrival of Fall comes the arrival of a new season, a time for change, a time for transition. So why not try something new this season? Here are some of my favorite things to do during this season and I’m hoping you’ll enjoy some of them too!

Bake a Homemade Apple Pie 

Everyone loves pie! It’s an American past time to eat pie for Fourth of July and Thanksgiving, but why not make one just because you can? The Fall season is a great time for fruits, they are finally ripe enough to be put to some delicious use. So why not find an orchard and go apple picking! Going to college in Spokane, I have some great opportunities for this in the Greenbluff countryside where farmers unite and put on their annual apple festival – it’s a great time. It’s one of my favorite things to get a group of friends together and go out there for a day of apple picking, delicious food and cider, and then come home and top it off with a homemade apple pie that I put together from the apples I picked!

bigstock-Apple-Picking-In-Orchard-72727147.jpg

Make Some Crafts to Decorate the Home

I don’t usually hand make decorations around the home, simply because I don’t have a ton of time to, but also it’s just so convenient to go to the store and buy something cute (especially since crafts cost just as much, but also require time). I’ve seen a ton of ideas on Pinterest this season though that may have just changed my mind. Here are some fun ideas for crafts to make this season:

How to Make a Fall Wreath

Pumpkin Garlands

Cinnamon Stick Candles

 

Change Up Your Starbucks Order

Now, I know this is a tough one since Pumpkin Spice Lattes are only in season for a few months out of the year, but don’t they get old after a while? Some of you are probably thinking to yourselves “no, of course not!”, but I encourage you to try a drink I recently tried and fell in love with! Plus, it’s not advertised on the menu – so you can’t order it unless you know about it. It’s called a Marble Mocha Macchiato and it’s like your classic macchiato but with a chocolatey twist. Instead of caramel, this drink blends white chocolate in with the coffee and drizzles mocha syrup on top for a yummy, yet not too sweet, beverage.

tumblr_n6ydhnD1VT1rk4ewwo1_500.jpg

Have a Pumpkin-Fest

There are so many things you can do with pumpkins other than just carving, it will blow your mind! You can paint pumpkins, play games with pumpkins, use pumpkins as food, and so much more! This season I got some friends together, went to a pumpkin patch to pick out our pumpkins, and then we all did something different with them. One friend painted hers and decorated it with glitter, one poked holes in hers and made a luminescent candle out of it, and another pulled out all the mushy insides and made baked some pumpkin seeds. I personally wanted to have some fun with mine and used mine to play ring toss with the pumpkin – which was super hard actually! But the challenge made it fun. Try something new with your pumpkin this year and if it breaks your heart to not carve one, then you can always get one for that too 🙂

IMG_0146.JPG

Create Your Own Custom Ale

Making micro-brews is an art form all in itself, but there’s enough information out there that it’s safe to try making one yourself – so why not add some pumpkin spice or cinnamon to customize a beer flavor that you’ll love this season. Beer is a great product to keep you warm and cozy during the colder months too hehe. For my custom brew, I decided to mix together some of my favorite fall sweets – caramel and cinnamon. Following the instructions from this blog I was able to perfect my pumpkin brew, but that was just the first step. Before I could serve myself up a nice glass, I mixed together cinnamon and sugar to rim my glass with and made it stick by dipping the rim of my glass in a layer of caramel and sprinkling the spices around the top. Lastly, I poured in my micro-brew and enjoyed a tall glass of Cinnamon Pumpkin Ale.

dsc03180-e1356524253361.jpg

I hope you can try some of these new activities this Fall and I would love to hear what some of your seasonal traditions are as well!

XO,

Chanel

 

2 thoughts on “5 New Things to Try This Fall

Leave a Reply

