Summer Reads 2016

At the beginning of the summer I bought eight books to read – only four of which I was able to finish due to my hectic schedule! I typically go for all romance novels seeing as I’m a hopefully romantic, but this summer I decided to switch it up (although not completely) and through a couple different genres in the mix! Here are this summers reads followed with a my personal synopses and reviews!

  1. Reconstructing Amelia by Kimberly McCreight
  2. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
  3. The Hypnotist’s Love Story by Liane Moriarty
  4. After You by JoJo Moyes

 

Reconstructing Amelia

Kimberly McCreight’s debut novel keeps you on the edge of your seat the entire time! It’s a story about a mother, Kate, who attempts to solve the mystery of her daughter’s sudden death. After receiving a call one day about her daughter’s misbehavior at school, she arrives on campus to find disaster – her daughter is dead. Through anonymous texts and plot twist after plot twist, will Kate bring justice to a case left unclosed? It’s definitely worth the read to find out!

51JJjEl5FCL._SX314_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Ready Player One

Ernest Cline’s debut novel was another read this summer that takes place in the year 2044 and centers around virtual reality. Science fiction novels are so far beyond my tastes in terms of books, but this one was so well written I didn’t even care that it wasn’t my typical romance novel! Wade Watts, the main character, is a player in a virtual contest that awards the first person to complete a set number of challenges the life fortune of the recently deceased creator of the virtual world these characters live in. It’s compelling, it’s exciting, and better yet the movie is going to be released in theaters in 2018! So be sure to read it before the film adaptation comes out!

ready-player-one-e1434926251751

 

The Hypnotist’s Love Story

I read The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty earlier this year which is why I chose another novel of hers as one of my summer reads. Personally, I like The Hypnotist’s Love Story more just because I felt The Husband’s Secret had such a slow start, but both are super good novels and should be given a chance! The Hypnotist’s Love Story is about a hypnotherapist’s journey through a new relationship that is haunted by the past of an old relationship. There is danger, there is romance, there is lust – a must read for anyone interesting in a twist!

23751850

After You

My boyfriend actually got this book for me after I kept ranting and raving about how beautiful a movie Me Before You was. The sequel to this devastating love story focuses on recovering from loss and moving forward when everything seems hopeless. I never read Me Before You, but the plot of both these novels are so unique compared to other love stories that you just have to give them a chance! JoJo Moyes’ writing is so fluent and so poignant that you can’t put the book down until you’re done.

AfterYou

 

What book have you read this summer? And what do you recommend reading in the fall?

Leave a Reply

