Home Sweet Home

Coming home to California after months of living in Washington is always a treat! My favorite part about being home is the familiarity – the routine that instantly kicks back in where I’m going to my favorite coffee shop and local mall. I wouldn’t appreciate my hometown as much if I didn’t spend so much time away from it, so if you’re thinking that your life at home is boring and you’re in need of a change then I would suggest getting away for a bit and coming back to the realization that you’re hometown is actually amazing.

PSA: this advice may not apply to those who were born outside of California (sorry!)

211_1024x366

The Shoppes at Chino Hills (my hometown)

So, what are the best things to do when visiting home? The priorities on my to-do list definitely include seeing family and friends! But it can be hard to figure out what places to go to when visiting those family and friends… My advice? Go somewhere new! It’s easy to go to your favorite places every time you come home (and yes I admit I get In n Out every time I come back to the good ole CA), but then visits home seem like the same trip every time – especially when your time is limited!

When it comes to activities, I always try a new place to eat! I’ve only been back at home for two days – but I’m already planning on going down to Three Thirty Three down at Newport Beach! My family is going to the beach for the day and then going out to dinner and this is the place we picked. I’ve heard many good things about it and although it’s not my favorite Mexican restaurant down the street from my house, it allows the space for new memories to be made.

3thirty3-interior-06

3-Thirty-3 Restaurant

Shopping is always a must at home too! I can almost guarantee that the stores in your hometown are not the same as your place of residence. Which is great sometimes and really frustrating at other times, but makes you appreciate the times when you can shop at those stores that always available. For example, Charming Charlie is a great store with fabulous accessories and jewelry for affordable prices, but there isn’t a store where I currently live. Luckily they have online shopping so I can still make my regular purchases, BUT for cute boutiques that don’t offer online shopping it can be really frustrating when you’re looking for that perfect boho/chic dress that online your local store offers.

Lastly, I know going home can be a stressful time as you have to make time to see everyone and make time for the things you want to do as well, but don’t forget to enjoy it! Going home is supposed to be a fun time to relax and remember the place that helped mold you into the person you are. Safe travels as summer comes to an end and if you didn’t get a chance to go home this summer – then holidays are just around the corner!

XOXO,

Chanel

One thought on “Home Sweet Home

Leave a Reply

